SIMPLE WORDS

We never know how important the words we speak to someone are. The simplest compliment, or observation can drastically change the way a person sees themselves. The simplest words can speak life into a part of someone that has seen defeat over and over again.

This very thing happened to me. In that moment, I knew there was something about those words but I didn’t know just how deep those words healed me. An hour or so later as I reflected on telling that person the depth of those words it became so clear to me; those words freed me. They freed me of my own self-doubt, self-criticism, and self-defeat.

Those words were words I needed to hear. They were six simple words:

YOU ARE PATIENT WITH YOUR KIDS

Many people don’t know this but that is one of my inner critics. One of the voices inside my head that tell me: you’re not good enough. You’re not good enough as a Christian, you’re not good enough as a woman, you’re not good enough as a sister, you’re not good enough as a parent! I try to be the picture of perfection. A perfect Christian, a perfect mother, a perfect friend. Not in a way that is superior to others but in a way that I view myself as a person. In a way that often left me feeling inadequate in my roles.

My ultimate desire is to be a gentle loving person. To me gentleness and patience go hand and hand; so, if I am not patient, I am not gentle. If I am not gentle, I am not patient. Every mess up for me is a blow to my perception of how I measure up; of my goodness. Every time I use a high pitch voice, an angry tone, or ugly word I feel the scorn of my self-critic yell YOU ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

I told myself so many times “I’m impatient, I hate waiting”. From that I believed those things and lived those things out. For someone to make that simple comment meant so much to me. They didn’t know it in that moment, but those simple words silenced that inner negativity and life began to grow where there was once agony.

The next time a thought of positivity comes to your mind, no matter how small use it to speak life into another person.  Today, someone said something to me and it freed me to know that I AM GOOD ENOUGH. If you are reading this I want you to know that YOU ARE GOOD ENOUGH.

Ephesians 4:29

Leave a Reply

